Guard dog

Guard dog

I’m not a fan of cats being allowed to roam in urban situations for several reasons – caterwauling cats disturb my sleep and serenity, the appalling toll they take on urban bird life, the cats that are run over by vehicles.

This cat found its way into our backyard without my knowledge. I took a break from computing and let the cattle dogs out. Achilles almost immediately saw or scented, then cornered it. Chili is pretty cagey, while he kept it cornered he maintained a healthy distance. After about 20 minutes I lost interest and went inside. All remained quiet outside. After another hour or so Achilles lost interest and scratched at the door, asking to come inside.

I took this photo almost four years ago and as far as I can determine this cat has never returned to our backyard. Smart kitty.

Author: andrew puntch

married, dog owner, current events, politics, history, baseball, weather/climate

Leave a Reply

